Have You Ever Noticed . . . ?

In my posts, I talk about making small changes to start achieving results.

Today I have a fairly simple request. I’d like you to try something. For the next week write down all the foods you eat and all the beverages you drink. I am not asking you to count calories, weigh food, or record the amounts of proteins, fats, and carbohydrates you consumed.

Then, one to two hours after eating record how you feel. Ask yourself questions like:

  • “Am I still hungry?”
  • “Do I have certain cravings?”
  • “How’s my energy level?”
  • “What’s my mood?”
  • “Is my thinking focused and clear or just the opposite?”

I ask people to do this exercise because I discovered, in my business, many individuals have lost touch with their bodies and the clues it provides them. We often tend to eat mindlessly and never make the connection between the foods we consume and how we feel.

Then, take time to review what you recorded during the past week. Some points to think about as you do so:

  • “Do certain foods always create the same reactions, moods, and feelings within you?”
  • “Do you feel full and satisfied or do you feel physically full, but still hungry?”
  • “Which foods produced cravings and what type of cravings?”
  • “Which foods improve your energy, and which ones drain it?”

Take note. Do you notice any patterns emerging?

Next, for one week eat/drink only the foods and beverages that gave you positive reactions, and again, record how you feel one or two hours after eating. Be aware of and really observe the changes in your body.

Did you detect a difference in your feelings between the first and second week?

The foods that worked for you and those that didn’t are unique to you. Chances are if a family member or friend did the same exercise they would have different results; we are unique in our individual nutrition needs.

I hope this exercise assists you in making new and healthy decisions around your food and drink choices.

Leave a Reply

